Week 27: Turning Over a New Leafy Green.

July 6, 2010 at 7:16 (Uncategorized)


I don’t know what happened. Don’t know if it was the new job; the stability of my health and therefore of my day-to-days; the confidence of finally fitting in at work and growing and having enough money to get by; the feeling useful; the shopping for engagement rings and feeling confident in my relationship and choices and life… Don’t know if it was any or all of this, but something finally clicked. I am starting to put myself a little bit first. Not on purpose, but purposefully.

See, if you care, it’s not something I know how to do, so just putting myself first was never an option. It was hard earned and hard fought against. But the tide’s turning and I’m suddenly getting more of what I want: getting in more fruits and veggies, cooking dinners with T, eating healthier instead of grabbing chocolate and ice cream and starting to work out. It’s just happening. All the things I wanted for myself but felt I didn’t deserve: To be comfortable in my own skin, to treat myself as important, to like what I see in the mirror. They’re happening.

It’s my time. Finally. Happy birthday, Me.

1 Comment

  1. t said,

    happy bday! You deserve it.

Leave a Reply

