Week 15: Intimacy Issues

April 27, 2010 at 7:16 (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


I got lucky enough to score tickets to see my favorite band, Dr. Dog, in their biggest venue in Chicago yet – the Metro. In past years I had a Beatles moment with them where I stood under lead singer Toby as he sweat on me at the Empty Bottle. I had offered lead guitarist, Scott, fries at Schuba’s and had stood belly-to-the-stage at the Double Door. I loved being so close to my favorite modern band, but I always lamented that they never got beyond these smaller venues. I wanted other people to learn about them and love them the way I do. Well, I finally got what I asked for.

I got the tickets months in advance and forgot about them, so I had no idea that Dr. Dog had exploded beyond the pencil-thin, flannel-wearing hipster crowd. When T and I approached the Metro April 16th, the line was out the door, up the block on Clark St., and people were begging for tickets. They SOLD OUT the Metro. The Metro is humongous with two huge floors and a capacity of 1100. It was packed to the gills at 9 p.m. and got even more packed as the night went on. T guessed there were 2000 people there and I didn’t doubt it. We stood against a wall on a thin platform two rows deep on the second floor and sweated and jumped and danced and listened. I thought there was no way they would be able to live up to their past shows, no way they’d be able to hear themselves over the crowd, but they proved me wrong, sounding as good as their CDs. As always.

There were yuppies and sorority girls and hipsters and hippies and Wrigley attendees and us. Everyone was together in their love for Dr. Dog. It was awesome. The only thing that wasn’t awesome was that I couldn’t see them. I couldn’t see a thing, actually. They got so big they got impersonal. Still good, still my favorite, still so proud of Dr. Dog — but not at all the same.

Leave a Reply

